The Enchantress (opera)

The Enchantress (Opera)

The Enchantress (opera)

to get instant updates about 'The Enchantress (Opera)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Enchantress (or The Sorceress, , Charodéyka) is an opera in four acts by Pyotr Tchaikovsky based on the libretto by Ippolit Shpazhinsky, using his drama with the same title. The opera was composed between September 1885 and May 1887 in Maidanovo, Russia and received its first performed in St Petersburg in 1887.

Performance history

The world premiere was given on 11 November 1887 at the Mariinsky Theatre in Saint Petersburg conducted the composer and with stage direction by Osip Palechek (Josef Paleček), set designs by Mikhail Bocharov; and costume designs by E. Ponomaryov.

Other notable performances include the Moscow premiere at the Bolshoy Theatre in 1890, followeded by two others in that city in 1900 and 1913.



  • Strings: Violins I, Violins II, Violas, Cellos, Double Basses
  • Woodwinds: Piccolo, 3 Flutes, 2 Oboes, Cor Anglais, 2 Clarinets (B-flat, C, A), 2 Bassoons
  • Brass: 4 Horns (F), 2 Cornets (B-flat), 2 Trumpets (B-flat), 3 Trombones, Tuba
  • Percussion: Timpani, Triangle, Tambourine, Military Drum, Cymbals, Bass Drum, Tam-tam
  • Other: Harp
  • On/Offstage: 4 Horns (off)


Time: The last quarter of the 15th century

Place: Nizhny Novgorod and its vicinity

The action takes place at the last quarter of the 15th century at the tavern and brothel near Nizhny Novgorod. Nastasia (Kuma), the charming owner of the inn, has made herself an enemy in rejecting the devious Mamyrov, the right-hand man of the local governor Nikita Danilovich...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from