The Guardian Cycle

The Guardian Cycle

The Guardian Cycle

to get instant updates about 'The Guardian Cycle' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Guardian Cycle is a series of five adult contemporary fantasy novels by Julia Gray.


  1. The Dark Moon (2001)
  2. The Jasper Forest (2001)
  3. The Crystal Desert (2002)
  4. The Red Glacier (2003)
  5. Alyssa's Ring (2003)


The setting for the books is the fictional planet of Nydus, with the adventure starting in Vadanis of the Empire of the Floating Islands, a realm dominated by astrology and other means of prophetic divination, to the extent that people are confined as insane for picking potatoes at an unpropitious time. An uncertainty and growing apprehension about the inability to translate the heaven's signs makes the people increasingly fearful and restless.

The world of Nydus' most distinctive and influential feature is its four moons—the White Moon, the Red Moon, the Amber Moon, and the Dark Moon. These heavenly bodies' phases and pulls govern the lives of all Nydus' people, particularly the lives of those living in the Floating Islands. Strange happenstances in recent times, mysterious and ancient prophecies, and magic constantly misused are also themes across the world and through all five books, an elemental (living creatures of great power) are generally the ones causing this, usually because they don't understand what they're doing.

Plot summaries

The Dark Moon

Adina, wife of the ailing Emperor Dheran, gives birth during an eclipse, at exactly the point in time predicted in the Tindaya Code—the ancient, ambiguous and oft-mistranslated...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from