The Karelian Isthmus

The Karelian Isthmus

Album Less

The Karelian Isthmus

to get instant updates about 'The Karelian Isthmus' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Karelian Isthmus is the debut album of Finnish metal band Amorphis, released in 1993.

Although The Karelian Isthmus took its name from a historic Finnish battleground, Karelian Isthmus, its lyrics focus on Amorphis's well known epic themes from the history of Finnish warfare and religion, but drawing more into celtic mythology rather than the later traditions of Amorphis's own native land. The epic side is sometimes broken up by the occult lyrical themes in tracks including "Pilgrimage", "Misery Path" and "Black Embrace". In recent years, songs from this album have been receiving more play during Amorphis' live performances, despite being of a different style than their later works.

The album was re-released in 2003 with all the songs from the "Privilege of Evil" EP added as bonus tracks.

Track listing

2003 Re-release

  1. <li value=12>"Pilgrimage from Darkness" – 4:32
  2. "Black Embrace" – 3:25
  3. "Privilege of Evil" – 3:50
  4. "Misery Path" – 4:17
  5. "Vulgar Necrolatry" – 3:58
  6. "Excursing from Existence" – 3:06



  • Production: Amorphis, Tomas Skogsberg
  • Mixing and Engineering: Tomas Skogsberg
  • Mastering: Dave Shirk
  • Remastered by Scott Hull at......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from