The Phantom Blooper

The Phantom Blooper

Book Less

The Phantom Blooper

to get instant updates about 'The Phantom Blooper' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Phantom Blooper is a 1990 novel written by Gustav Hasford, and the sequel to The Short-Timers. It continues to follow James T. "Joker" Davis through his Vietnam odyssey. The book was supposed to be the second of a "Vietnam Trilogy", but the author died soon after completing it.The book is now out of print, but Hasford's website contains the entire text.


The novel begins sometime after The Short-Timers left off and is divided into three parts. In "The Winter Soldiers," Joker (having been demoted from Sergeant to Private) is still at the Khe Sanh base, which is about to be abandoned by American Marines after withstanding a two-month siege. He believes most of his previous squad-mates to be dead, even the seemingly indestructible Animal Mother. Joker blames their deaths on "The Phantom Blooper," supposedly an American, armed with an M79 grenade launcher, who fights alongside the Viet Cong against his countrymen.

Joker is still haunted by the memory of his friend Cowboy, whom he killed in order to keep his squad from being cut down by a sniper; as a result, his behavior has become increasingly erratic and violent. He sets up one of his squad-mates to be killed in an attempt to draw the Phantom Blooper out of hiding, then forces an inattentive soldier on guard duty to hold a live hand grenade with the pin out. Later, as the Viet Cong attempt to overrun the base, he splits his platoon sergeant's tongue with a straight razor. The...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from