The Years of Lyndon Johnson

The Years Of Lyndon Johnson

The Years of Lyndon Johnson

to get instant updates about 'The Years Of Lyndon Johnson' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Years of Lyndon Johnson is a biography of Lyndon B. Johnson by the American writer Robert Caro. Three volumes have published, running to more than 2,000 pages in total, detailing Johnson's early life, education, and political career. A fourth volume yet to be released will deal with Johnson's presidency. The series has been published by Alfred A. Knopf.

Book One: The Path to Power (1982)

In the first volume, The Path to Power, Caro retraced Johnson's life by temporarily moving to rural Texas and Washington, D.C., to better understand Johnson's upbringing and to interview anyone who had known Johnson. This volume covers Johnson's life through his failed 1941 campaign for the United States Senate. This book was released on November 12, 1982. It won the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Book Two: Means of Ascent (1990)

In the second volume, Means of Ascent, Caro detailed Johnson's life from the aftermath of Johnson's first Senate bid to his election to the Senate in 1948. Much of the book deals with Johnson's bitterly-contested Democratic primary against Coke R. Stevenson. This book was released on March 7, 1990.

Book Three: Master of the Senate (2002)

In the third and most-recently published volume, Master of the Senate, Caro chronicles Johnson's rapid ascent in the United States Congress, including his tenure as Senate Majority Leader. This 1167-page work examines in particular Johnson's victorious battle to pass a landmark civil rights bill. Although its scope...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from