Three Bishoprics

to get instant updates about 'Three Bishoprics' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Three Bishoprics (, ) constituted a province of pre-Revolution France consisting of the prince-bishoprics of Verdun, Metz, and Toul within the Lorraine region.

The dioceses were States of the Holy Roman Empire until they were seized by French King Henry II between April and June 1552. In the course of the rebellion of several Protestant Imperial princes against the Augsburg Interim issued by Emperor Charles V of Habsburg, the conquest had been legitimised ahead of time by the Treaty of Chambord on 15 January 1552, which confirmed the – Catholic – French king's lordship over Metz, Toul and Verdun, as well as the Bishopric of Cambrai "and other towns of the Empire that do not speak German". The leader of the rebellion, Elector Maurice of Saxony, in turn received subsidies and military assistance from the French and reached the revocation of the Interim by the Peace of Passau that led to the final religious Peace of Augsburg in 1555.

King Henry II according to his agreement with the Protestant princes had moved into the lands of the Three Bishoprics. As from the emperor's perspective, Maurice and his allies had no right to legally dispose of Imperial territory, Charles V started a campaign against the French during the Italian War of 1551–1559 in order to reconquer the occupied dioceses. The expedition ultimately failed, when the Imperial troops were defeated by the French forces under Duke Francis of Guise at the 1554 Battle of Renty. After the emperor had...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from