Time in Australia

Time In Australia

Time in Australia

to get instant updates about 'Time In Australia' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Australia uses Standard time, i.e. the same well defined time for a region. The proper names of Australia's time zones are Australian Western Standard Time (AWST), Australian Central Standard Time (ACST), and Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST). In domestic contexts the leading "Australian" is often omitted.The three zones use three standard UTC offsets: western (00), central (30) and eastern (00). Most Australian external territories also observe different time zones.

Standard time was introduced in the 1890s when all colonies adopted it. Before the switch to standard times, each local municipality was free to determine its own local time, called local mean time.Western Australia uses Western Standard Time, South Australia and the Northern Territory use Central Standard Time. All other states and the Australian Capital Territory use Eastern Standard Time.

New South Wales (NSW), the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), Victoria (Vic), South Australia (SA), and Tasmania (Tas) observe daylight saving time every year. Western Australia, Queensland and the Northern Territory do not observe daylight saving.

Though the states and territories have power to legislate time variations, the standard time within each is set in relation to Coordinated Universal Time , as determined by the International Bureau of Weights and Measures and maintained under section 8AA of the National Measurement Act 1960 of the Commonwealth.

Time zones

The standardization...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from