Tirunelveli district

Tirunelveli District

Indian Jurisdiction
Indian Jurisdiction Less

Tirunelveli district

to get instant updates about 'Tirunelveli District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Tirunelveli District (Tamil: திருநெல்வேலி மாவட்டம்) is a district of Tamil Nadu state in southern India. The city of Tirunelveli is the district headquarters. A unique feature of this district is that it consists of all five geographical traditions of Tamil Literature; Kurinji (mountains), Mullai (forest), Marudham (paddy fields), Neithal (coastal) and Palai (desert). Tirunelveli District was formed on September 1, 1790 by the East India Company (British Government) which comprises present Tirunelveli and Tuticorin district and parts of Virudhunagar and Ramanathapuram district. It is the second largest district as on October 2008 after Villupuram district.


Tirunelveli District was formed on September 1, 1790 (Tirunelveli Day) by the East India Company (British) and named it as Tinnevelly district though their headquarters was first located in Palayamkottai the adjacent city, where they had their military headquarters during their operations against the Palayakars. There are three reasons attributed for naming the district after Tirunelveli. The prime one is that it has been serving as the main city of the district and the second one is that it has been called called as Tirunelveli Seemai under the Nayaks and Nawabs. Finally it served as the south capital in the period of Pandyan......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Indian Jurisdiction
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from