to get instant updates about 'Transleithania' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Transleithania (, , ) was an unofficial term for the Hungarian part of Austria-Hungary, the Dual monarchy created in 1867 and dissolved in 1918. The Transleithanian lands were officially known as the Lands of the Crown of Saint Stephen (or of the Holy Crown of Hungary).

The Latin name Transleithania derives from the Leitha (Lajta) river as most of its territory lay east of itor "beyond", from an Austrian perspective. Cisleithania, i.e. the Habsburg lands of the Dual Monarchy that formerly were part of the Holy Roman Empire with Galicia and Dalmatia, lay to the weston this sideof the Leitha river.

The territory reached from the arc of the Carpathian Mountains in present-day Slovakia to the Croatian coast of the Adriatic Sea. The capital of Transleithania was Budapest.

Crown lands

After the Austro-Hungarian Compromise of 1867 Transleithania consisted of the Kingdom of Hungary including Hungary proper, the former Principality of Transylvania (Erdélyi Fejedelemség) as well as the Voivodeship of Serbia and Banat of Temeschwar, furthermore the internally self-governed Kingdom of Croatia-Slavonia with the Military Frontier, and the free port of......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from