Treaty of Bucharest (1812)

Treaty Of Bucharest (1812)

Treaty of Bucharest (1812)

to get instant updates about 'Treaty Of Bucharest (1812)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Treaty of Bucharest between the Ottoman Empire and the Russian Empire, was signed on 28 May 1812, in Bucharest, at the end of the Russo-Turkish War, 1806-1812.

Under its terms, the eastern part of the Principality of Moldavia, between Prut and Dniester Rivers, with an area of (later known as Bessarabia), was ceded by the Ottoman Empire (to which Moldavia was a vassal) to Russia. Also, Russia obtained trading rights on the Danube. A truce was signed with the rebelling Serbs and autonomy given to Serbia. The treaty, signed by the Russian commander Mikhail Kutuzov, was ratified by Alexander I of Russia just one day before Napoleon launched his invasion of Russia.

In Transcaucasia, the Ottomans renounced its claims to most of western Georgia, but retained control of Akhalkalaki, Poti, and Anapa previously captured by the Russo-Georgian troops in the course of the war.

See also


External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from