- :Trinity College Chapel redirects here. For other users, see Trinity College Chapel
<!-- Unsourced image removed: -->The Trinity College Chapel
, Sri Lanka
is unique among churches
in Sri Lanka
. Situated right below the Principal’s bungalow at Trinity College, Kandy
and christened “Holy Trinity Church”, the Chapel is made of stone and its roof is supported by 50 pillars with fine stone carvings displaying beautiful Kandyan craftsmanship. Architecturally, one could see the best of Sinhalese Architecture in it, with designs and carvings similar to those in Polonnaruwa
, an ancient capital of Sri Lanka. It was also the first open chapel in the world, whereas all the others of the time were of Gothic
type, and it continues to be greatly admired today.
Initial plans for the Chapel were drawn up during the time of one of Trinity's greatest principals, the Rev. A.G. Fraser
(1904 – 24). The design and the construction work of the chapel was done by Rev. L. J. Gaster
, the vice principal at the time. The construction work on the chapel commenced in 1923 soon after the foundation stone was laid.
During construction nearly a 100 craftsman and laborers were employed and in 1929 the side chapel was the first section to be completed. The paintings in the chapel, considered to be exquisite masterpieces, were done by David Paynter
. The very first mural was done on the southern wall of the side chapel in 1928. Three others were to follow. These murals help to add... Read More