Tunga, Leyte

to get instant updates about 'Tunga, Leyte' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Tunga is a 6th class municipality in the province of Leyte, Philippines. According to the 2007 census, it has a population of 6,222 people in 1,307 households, or an average of 4.76 individuals per household.

On March 4, 1948, "Pag-urosa han mga Tunga-on", the association that led the campaign to make Tunga a municipality, was organized and it elected Domingo A. Ponferrada, President; Martino Ariza, 1st Vice President; Blas Uribe, 2nd Vice President; Vicente Catenza, 3rd Vice President; Primitivo Geraldo, Secretary; Norberto Quintana, treasurer; Ramón Santillan, Sr (who in 2004 turned 100 years old) and Juan Avila, auditors; Paulo Cotoner, Magno Buñales and Arsenio Carit, Sergeants-at-Arms. The last of these Tungaon pioneers, Ramón Santillan, Sr, died on October 13, 2005, at age 101.

These officers invited and apprised Atilano R. Cinco, Congressman for the 5th District of Leyte, of the desire of Tunga to become an independent municipality. Cinco promised to file a bill in congress when all supporting papers that he had suggested were ready. Thus, a committee on consensus was created. Martino Ariza was elected as chairman; the members being some of the students of Tunga Institute.

Subsequently, Philippine President Quirino issued Executive Order No. 266, dated September 24, 1949, creating the independent municipality of Tunga, however the appointed local officials had to assume their posts a few days after the elections.

On November 15, 1949, Provincial Board...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from