to get instant updates about 'UBS Cup' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The UBS Cup was a team golf tournament contested by the United States and a team representing the "Rest of the World" which ran from 2001 to 2004. Six golfers on each side had to be 50 or over, and the remaining six had to be in their forties. It was sanctioned by the PGA Tour (which operates the Champions Tour for golfers over 50) and the European Seniors Tour. Like the Ryder Cup, the competition was a mixture of foursome matches, four ball matches and single matches.

The United States won the inaugural cup in 2001, held on The Ocean Course at Kiawah Island, by a score of 12 ½ - 11 ½. The U.S. then retained the trophy with a 14 ½ - 9 ½ victory in 2002 on the Seaside Course at Sea Island, Georgia. A 12-12 draw in 2003, again at Sea Island, kept the trophy in the hands of the U.S. defenders. A 14-10 U.S. victory at Kiawah Island in 2004 was the final competition, when Colin Montgomerie lost to an American for the first time in matchplay singles.

In 2004 the UBS Cup had a prize fund of $3 million, with $150,000 going to each member of the winning team and $100,000 to each member of the losing team. Arnold Palmer was captain of the United States team in all four UBS Cups, and retained his record of never having lost any team competition as United States captain.

The UBS Cup was discontinued after four years, but other team tournaments on the Ryder Cup model have proliferated around the...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from