United States and the International Criminal Court

United States And The International Criminal Court

United States and the International Criminal Court

to get instant updates about 'United States And The International Criminal Court' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The United States is not a member of the International Criminal Court (ICC). The ICC is a permanent international criminal court, founded in 2002 by the Rome Statute to "bring to justice the perpetrators of the worst crimes known to humankind - war crimes, crimes against humanity, and genocide", especially when national courts are unable or unwilling to do so.

As of April 2011, 114 states are members of the court and 139 countries have signed but not ratified the Rome Statute. Other countries that have not signed or ratified the Rome Statute include India, Indonesia, and China. On May 6, 2002, the United States, in a position shared with Israel and Sudan, signed the Rome Statute but formally withdrew its intent of ratification.

Positions in the United States concerning the ICC vary widely. The Clinton Administration signed the Rome Statute in 2000, but did not submit it for Senate ratification. The Bush Administration, the US administration at the time of the ICC's founding, stated that it would not join the ICC. The Obama Administration has subsequently re-established a working relationship with the court.

Signing and ratification

Seven countries voted against the treaty, namely: Iraq, Israel, Libya, People's Republic of China, Qatar, Yemen, and the United...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from