University of Regensburg

University Of Regensburg

University Less

University of Regensburg

to get instant updates about 'University Of Regensburg' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The University of Regensburg () is a public research university located in the medieval city of Regensburg, Bavaria, a city that is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The university was founded on July 18, 1962 by the Landtag of Bavaria as the fourth full-fledged university in Bavaria. Following groundbreaking in 1965, the university officially opened to students during the 1967–1968 winter semester, initially housing faculties in Law and Business Sciences and Philosophy. During the summer semester of 1968 the faculty of Theology was created. Currently, the University of Regensburg houses twelve faculties. The university actively participates in the European Union's SOCRATES programme as well as several TEMPUS programmes. The university is traditionally considered rather conservative compared to other German universities. Its most famous academic, the current Pope Benedict XVI, served as a professor there until 1977 and formally retains his chair in theology.


Attempts to establish a university in Regensburg had been advocated since the late 15th century. In 1487, Duke Albrecht IV of Bavaria and the Regensburg city council sent a petition to Pope Innocent VIII to establish a university within the city. The idea was rejected, failing for economic reasons. In 1562, reformer again advocated the creation of a university in the city, arguing that a university in Regensburg would spread the ideas of the...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from