University of Tennessee system

University Of Tennessee System

University Less

University of Tennessee system

to get instant updates about 'University Of Tennessee System' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The University of Tennessee system (UT system) is one of two public university systems in the state of Tennessee. It consists of three primary campuses in Knoxville, Chattanooga and Martin, a health sciences campus in Memphis and a research institute in Tullahoma.

The University of Tennessee system has a combined student enrollment of more than 44,000 students, over 260,000 living alumni, and a total endowment of approximately $867 million.


The University of Tennessee was founded in Knoxville as Blount College in 1794. The university was designated as the state's land-grant institution in 1869, and gained the name "University of Tennessee" in 1879. The medical campus, the UT Health Science Center was founded in Memphis in 1911.

In 1927, UT acquired Hall-Moody Institute and renamed it to the University of Tennessee Junior College. In 1951, the school began awarding bachelor degrees and became the University of Tennessee Martin Branch. In 1968, the UT system was officially formed, with the University of Tennessee at Martin and UT Knoxville as the primary campuses.

That same year, the Tennessee state legislature gave UT permission to establish a campus in Chattanooga, which was the largest city in Tennessee without a public university. The private University of Chattanooga determined...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from