University of Waterloo Faculty of Science

University Of Waterloo Faculty Of Science

University of Waterloo Faculty of Science

to get instant updates about 'University Of Waterloo Faculty Of Science' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Faculty of Science is one of six faculties at the University of Waterloo. In 2004-05, Science attracted almost $42.5 million in research funding in areas such as aquatic ecology, microbiology, solid state chemistry, environmental biology and groundwater contamination clean-up.


In the Fall of 1959, the first students were enrolled in the Faculty of Science. As of 2008, there are 3109 undergraduates and 375 graduate as full-time students, and almost another 350 undergraduate and graduate as part-time students.

In October 2002, the Institute for Quantum Computing was established, with the assistance of Mike Lazaridis, as well the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics.

The current Dean of the faculty is Dr. Terry McMahon, who was established in 2007.


There are currently four departments in the Faculty of Science. They are the Departments of Biology, Chemistry, Earth & Environmental Sciences, and Physics & Astronomy. The Faculty of Science also runs the School of Optometry, and the School of Pharmacy. The School of Optometry is Canada's only English-language School of Optometry, renowned for its outreach programs and vision research. The Internationally renowned Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics is associated with the Department of Physics, and the Institute for Quantum Computing is also run through the Faculty of Science.

Student life

There are several...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from