University of Zaragoza

University Of Zaragoza

University Less

University of Zaragoza

to get instant updates about 'University Of Zaragoza' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The University of Zaragoza or sometimes Saragossa University (in Spanish: Universidad de Zaragoza) is a university located in Zaragoza, in the Aragon region of Spain. Founded in 1542, it is one of the oldest universities in the world (with a history dating back to the Roman period), has over 40,000 students in its 22 faculties, and ranks among the top public universities in Europe. Situated in the heart of Aragon, the University of Zaragoza is the only public university in the region, which means it is funded by the “Diputación General de Aragón” (Government of Aragon) and the government of Spain. Its activity is spread along the three provinces of Aragon, with teaching campuses and research centres in Huesca, Teruel and Zaragoza.

Early history

Like other institutions of the past and of other nations, the University of Zaragoza did not suddenly arise, but rather had its beginnings in what were known as the Ecclesiastical Schools. In the city these were later known as the School of Zaragoza, whose guiding spirit in the 7th century was the Bishop Braulio (which is the reason why in modern times he was made the patron saint of our University). Later, references from 1335 indicate there was a School of Arts (known as liberal arts, since the classics included in the "trivium and "quadrivium" were taught there. Between 1474 and 1476 this institution earned the category of General School of Arts, to become a university in the 16th century.


Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from