Unnao district

to get instant updates about 'Unnao District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Unnao District (, ) is a district of Uttar Pradesh state in northern India. The town of Unnao is the district headquarters. The district is part of Lucknow Division. Situated between the cities of Lucknow & Kanpur, Unnao has a rich heritage of sword and pen, having produced great freedom fighters, poets and writers. The freedom struggle of 1857 was followed by the transfer of power from the East India Company to the British Crown. As soon as order had been restored, the civil administration was re-established in the district which was named district Unnao, with headquarters at Unnao. The size of the district was however small until 1869, when it assumed its present form. The same year the town of Unnao was constituted a Municipality. Hiuen Tsang, the famous Chinese pilgrim to India, stayed at Kannauj for 3 months in 636 AD. From here he journeyed a distance of about 26 km and reached the city of Na-fo-ti-po-ku-lo (Navadevakula) which stood on the eastern bank of Ganga. The city was about 5 km in circumference and had a magnificent Deva Temple, several Buddhist Monasteries and Stupas.

Administration and politics

Unnao district is divided into 5 tehsils: Hasanganj, Safipur, Purwa, and Bighapur. There are 16 development blocks: Ganj Moradabad, Bangarmau, Fatehpur Chaurasi, Safipur, Miyanganj, Auras, Hasanganj, Nawabganj, Purwa, Asoha, Hilauli, Bighapur, Sumerpur, Bichia, Sikandarpur Sirausi, and Sikandarpur Karan.

The current elected representative from Unnao to the Lok......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from