Upper Silesia Province

Upper Silesia Province

Former Subdivision
Former Subdivision Less

Upper Silesia Province

to get instant updates about 'Upper Silesia Province' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Province of Upper Silesia (; Silesian German: Provinz Oberschläsing; ; ) was a province of the Free State of Prussia created in the aftermath of World War I. It comprised much of the region of Upper Silesia and was eventually divided into two administrative regions (Regierungsbezirke), Kattowitz and Oppeln. The provincial capital was Oppeln (1919—1938) and Kattowitz (since 1941), while other major towns included Beuthen, Gleiwitz, Hindenburg O.S., Neiße and Ratibor.


Weimar Republic

Within Weimar Germany, the Prussian Province of Silesia was divided into the provinces of Upper Silesia and Lower Silesia in 1919 in the aftermath of World War I. Silesian Uprisings of Poles against Germans occurred in Upper Silesia from 1919 and 1920. Uproar over the Upper Silesia plebiscite of 1921 led to a third uprising, which culminated in the Battle of Annaberg. According to the German-Polish Accord on East Silesia, signed in Geneva on May 15, 1922 the eastern Upper Silesian lands were transferred from Germany to the Second Polish Republic on June 20 and became part of the Autonomous Silesian Voivodeship. The territory remaining in Prussian Upper Silesia was administered within Regierungsbezirk Oppeln and - according to Polish sources - had 530,000 Poles within it.

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Subdivision
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from