Urban agglomerations of Quebec

Urban Agglomerations Of Quebec

Urban agglomerations of Quebec

to get instant updates about 'Urban Agglomerations Of Quebec' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

An agglomeration, or urban agglomeration, is an administrative subdivision of Quebec at the local level that may group together a number of municipalities which were abolished as independent entities on 1 January 2002 but reconstituted on 1 January 2006.

Urban agglomerations have certain powers that would ordinarily be exercised by individual municipalities.


The Act respecting the exercise of certain municipal powers in certain urban agglomerations defines the expression urban agglomeration as follows.

An urban agglomeration corresponds to the territory, as it exists on 17 December 2004, of Ville de Montréal, Ville de Québec, Ville de Longueuil, Ville de Mont-Laurier, Ville de La Tuque, Municipalité des Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Ville de Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts, Ville de Mont-Tremblant, Ville de Cookshire-Eaton, Ville de Rivière-Rouge or Ville de Sainte-Marguerite-Estérel.

One municipality in each agglomeration is known as the central municipality and has special status under the Act. The others are called related municipalities.

The Act defines the powers exercised by the agglomeration and those exercised by the reconstituted municipalities, known as agglomeration powers (compétences d'agglomération) and local powers (compétences de proximité).

==Agglomeration councils==<!-- This section is linked from Agglomeration council -->Agglomeration powers are exercised by agglomeration councils (conseils d'agglomération).

Agglomeration powers

A list of...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from