Victorian Premier Cricket

Victorian Premier Cricket

Cricket Tournament Main
Cricket Tournament Main Less

Victorian Premier Cricket

to get instant updates about 'Victorian Premier Cricket' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Victorian Premier Cricket is the elite club cricket competition in the state of Victoria , administered by Cricket Victoria. Each club fields four teams (firsts through to fourths) of adult players and usually play on weekends and public holidays. Matches are played on turf wickets under limited-time rules, with most results being decided on a first-innings basis. Outstanding players in the competition are selected to play for the Victorian Bushrangers at first-class and List A level, in the Sheffield Shield and Ford Ranger Cup competitions respectively. The competition commenced in the 1906–07 season when it was known as "District cricket"; the competition was renamed in 1990. Separate competitions for one-day matches (2002–03) and Twenty20 (2005–06) have recently been established.


Inter-club cricket in Melbourne had its beginnings during the 1850s, with matches arranged on an informal basis. The newspapers usually decided the season's best team via the consensus of journalists. In 1870, the Challenge Cup was introduced, beginning an era of more structured competition.

For the 1889–90 season, a program of Pennant Matches was devised over eight rounds, which began the era of club competition recognisable today. The original competing teams were Carlton, East Melbourne, Essendon, Fitzroy, Melbourne, North Melbourne, Port Melbourne, Richmond, St Kilda, South Melbourne, University and Williamstown. There were no...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Cricket Tournament Main
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from