Viipuri Province

Viipuri Province

Former Subdivision
Former Subdivision Less

Viipuri Province

to get instant updates about 'Viipuri Province' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Viipuri Province (, ) was a province of independent Finland from 1917 to 1947 but had already been founded in 1743.


The province was established in 1743 by separating the city of Viipuri and territories ceded from the Swedish Empire to Russia by the Treaty of Nystad in 1721, from the Saint Petersburg Governorate, and including the new territorial gains by the Treaty of Åbo. At that time it was known as the Vyborg Governorate (). The territory consisted of parts from the Viborg and Nyslott County and Kexholm County in 1721, and the Savolax and Kymmenegård County in 1743. It was also known as Old Finland, and between 1802 and 1812 it was named the "Governorate of Finland".

Vyborg Governorate

During the Napoleonic Wars, the Kingdom of Sweden had allied itself with the Russian Empire, United Kingdom and other parties against Napoleonic France. However, following the treaty of Treaty of Tilsit in 1807, Russia made peace with France. In 1808, and supported by France, Russia successfully challenged the Swedish control over Finland in the Finnish War. In the Treaty of Fredrikshamn on September 17, 1809 Sweden was obliged to cede all its territory in Finland, east of the Torne River, to Russia. The ceded territories became a part of the Russian Empire and was reconstituted into the Grand Duchy of Finland, with the Russian Tsar as Grand Duke.

In 1812 the governorate (, ) was transferred from Russia proper to the Grand Duchy of Finland, however in Finland...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Subdivision
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from