Virgin New Adventures

Virgin New Adventures

Virgin New Adventures

to get instant updates about 'Virgin New Adventures' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Virgin New Adventures (NA series,) were a series of novels from Virgin Publishing based on the British science-fiction television series Doctor Who. They continued the story of the Doctor from the point at which the television programme went into hiatus from television (in 1989).

From 1991 to 1997 all books (except the final one) involved the Seventh Doctor, played on television by Sylvester McCoy; in further books published between 1997 and 1999, the New Adventures series focused on the character Bernice Summerfield and the Doctor did not appear. Like all Doctor Who media, their continuity in relation to all other Doctor Who media is open to interpretation.

Publication history

Doctor Who

Virgin had purchased the successful children's imprint Target Books in 1989, with Virgin's new fiction editor Peter Darvill-Evans taking over the range. Target's major output was novelisations of televised Doctor Who stories, and Darvill-Evans realised that there were few stories left to be novelised. He approached the BBC for permission to commission original stories written directly for print, but such a licence was initially refused. However, after the television series was cancelled at the end of 1989, Virgin were granted the licence to produce full-length original novels continuing the story from the point at which the series had concluded.

The range, titled the New Adventures, was launched in 1991 with...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from