Voivodeship sejmik

Voivodeship Sejmik

Voivodeship sejmik

to get instant updates about 'Voivodeship Sejmik' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

A voivodeship sejmik () is a regional council composed of elected councillors in each of the 16 voivodeships (provinces) of Poland. Sejmiks are elected for four-year terms. The number of councillors varies, depending on the population: in smaller voivodeships there are 30, while in the most populous (Masovian Voivodeship) there are 51.

The word sejmik is a diminutive of sejm, which was historically an assembly of nobles, and is now the name of the lower house of the Polish parliament. For other historical uses of the term, see sejmik.

The members of a sejmik elect a chairman and deputy chairmen from among their number. These may not sit on the voivodeship's executive board. The chairman is responsible for organizing the sejmik's business and presiding over debates.

The sejmik can adopt bylaws on matters concerning a voivodeship which are not reserved for central governmental administration (most of which is managed in the region by the centrally-appointed governor or voivode); such matters include the voivodeship's budget, development strategy, and rules on management of the voivodeship's property. The sejmik elects and holds to account the voivodeship's executive board (zarząd województwa), which is chaired by the voivodeship marshal (marszałek województwa).

See also

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from