Walloon Flanders

to get instant updates about 'Walloon Flanders' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Walloon Flanders (in French Flandre wallonne, in Latin Comitia Flandriae Wallonensis) is part of the County of Flanders.

Walloon Flanders usually means the same territory, the bailiwick of Douai and the castelleny of Lille, but in two different periods :

In the Spanish Low Countries, it was the part of Romance Flanders which signed the Union of Arras on January 6, 1579.

After the Treaties of Nijmegen, Walloon Flanders was an intendancy of the French province of Flanders and Hainaut.

In both cases, Mouscron, for instance, was not a part of Walloon Flanders. The use of Walloon Flanders is political, not linguistic as Romance Flanders or Gallicant Flanders. The historical language is actually not Walloon but Picard.

See also

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from