West Rail Line

to get instant updates about 'West Rail Line' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The West Rail Line () is one of the MTR lines in Hong Kong. It was formerly known as the KCR West Rail (). It starts at Hung Hom Station in Yau Tsim Mong District and ends at Tuen Mun Station in Tuen Mun. Only four of its stations, East Tsim Sha Tsui Station, Austin Station, Mei Foo Station and Tsuen Wan West Station were built underground, with the others above ground.

Currently the West Rail Line only provides a local service, and resembles a metro more than a commuter railway. However the line was built to commuter railway standard, in the expectation that it would accommodate other trains in the future.

The railway line was originally built by the Kowloon-Canton Railway Corporation (KCRC) and was operated as part of that operator's three line network prior to its merger with the MTR Corporation (MTRC). Operation was taken over by the MTRC on 2 December 2007, after the merger took effect. The line is still owned by the KCRC, although it is now leased to the MTRC.


A railway to the northwestern New Territories from the urban area in Kowloon was proposed in the early 1990s. Both the MTR and the KCRC submitted plans to the government, but ultimately the KCRC's proposal to Tin Shui Wai new town was selected. However, several major accidents on Tuen Mun Road led to requests by residents in Tuen Mun for a railway connection to the centre of their town. Thus the route in the final proposal deviates from the original plan (in which the line terminated in the...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from