Western European and Others Group

Western European And Others Group

Western European and Others Group

to get instant updates about 'Western European And Others Group' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Western European and Others Group (WEOG) is one of several unofficial Regional Groups in the United Nations that act as voting blocs and negotiation forums. Regional voting blocs were formed in 1961 to encourage voting to various UN bodies from regional groups. Almost all members are in Western Europe, but the WEOG is unusual in that geography is not the sole defining factor; Europe is divided between the WEOG and the Eastern European Group, and the WEOG also contains Canada, Australia, and New Zealand, which are culturally and politically descended from Western European states but are located far away from them. The group also contains one observer, United States (which can't vote but can put forward candidates for the General Assembly), and one temporary full member, Israel (on a basis of "permanent renewal of temporary full membership").

There are 28 member states, as of 2007).

WEOG Member States

Western European permanent members, belonging to WEOG exclusively

Other permanent members, belonging to WEOG exclusively

Members belonging to WEOG exclusively, on a basis of permanent renewal of temporary full membership

  • : In May 2000, Israel, though naturally a part of the Asian Group in geographical terms but with membership blocked by Arab countries, became a WEOG full<ref......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from