Western Province (Papua New Guinea)

Western Province (Papua New Guinea)

Settlement Less

Western Province (Papua New Guinea)

to get instant updates about 'Western Province (Papua New Guinea)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Western Province is a coastal province in southwestern Papua New Guinea, bordering the Indonesian province of Papua. The provincial capital is Daru, on the island of Daru. The largest town in the province is Tabubil. The provincial government has purported to change the name of the province to the Fly River Province but this remains unofficial as names of provinces are set out in the Constitution of Papua New Guinea and changes must be made according to the constitutional amending process.

Geography and ecology

Western Province covers 99,300 km² and is the largest province in Papua New Guinea by area. There are several large rivers that run through the province including the Fly River and its tributaries including the Strickland and Ok Tedi rivers, the largest lake in Papua New Guinea Lake Murray is also in Western Province.

In the province is the only part of Papua New Guinea which possesses land west of the 141°E line that divides it from Indonesian Western New Guinea. This is a small section of territory bordered by the Fly River.

The Tonda Wildlife Management Area in the south-western corner of the province is a wetland of international importance


There were 153,304 inhabitants counted at the 2000 census. The provincial capital is Daru. Other major settlements are Kiunga, Tabubil, Ningerum, Olsobip...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from