Wheelchair Basketball World Championship

Wheelchair Basketball World Championship

Sports League
Sports League Less

Wheelchair Basketball World Championship

to get instant updates about 'Wheelchair Basketball World Championship' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The IWBF World Wheelchair Basketball Championship is an international wheelchair basketball competition contested by the men's and the women's national teams of the members of the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF), the sport's global governing body.

The first unofficial Wheelchair Basketball World Championships for men was held in 1973,, International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF) with Bruges, Belgium being the first host city. The unofficial world championship for men was won by Great Britain, with a team that included Philip Craven, who would later become the President of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC). Bruges, Belgium also hosted the first official World Championships, known as the Gold Cup tournament, in 1975.

The men's world championships has been won 6 times by the United States, and once each by Great Britain (unofficial Championship 1973), Israel, France Canada, and Australia. Wheelchair basketball world championships for women have been held since 1990. In the first 6 women's world championships, Canada has won four world titles, and the United States two world titles.


<nowiki>*</nowiki> Unofficial Championship




<nowiki>*</nowiki> Unofficial Championship



Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Sports League
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from