Wilfrid Laurier University

Wilfrid Laurier University

University Less

Wilfrid Laurier University

to get instant updates about 'Wilfrid Laurier University' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Wilfrid Laurier University is a university located in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. It also has campuses in Brantford, Ontario, Kitchener, Ontario and Toronto, Ontario and a future proposed campus in Milton, Ontario. It is named in honour of Sir Wilfrid Laurier, the seventh Prime Minister of Canada. Laurier offers a full range of undergraduate and graduate programs in a variety of fields. Laurier is one of the fastest-growing universities in Canada (enrollment more than doubled from 1997 to 2006). The main campus is located in Waterloo. The City of Waterloo is home to both Wilfrid Laurier University and the University of Waterloo.


The history of Wilfrid Laurier University, a non-denominational university at Waterloo, Ontario dates from 1911, when the Waterloo Lutheran Seminary of Canada opened its doors to students. Waterloo was selected as the location because of the land granted by the citizens and the town administration on the edge of the town, and the fact that that Waterloo and Berlin, Ontario (now known as Kitchener) had very large Lutheran populations.

In 1914 the Seminary developed non-theological courses under the name of the Waterloo College School. Waterloo College of Arts became affiliated with Western in 1925. Today Wilfrid Laurier University emphasizes liberal arts.

In 1924 the Waterloo College of Arts was established, offering post-secondary three-year programs.<ref...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from