Wirral Peninsula

to get instant updates about 'Wirral Peninsula' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Wirral or the Wirral () is a peninsula in North West England. It is bounded by three bodies of water: to the west by the River Dee, forming a boundary with Wales, to the east by the River Mersey and to the north by the Irish Sea. Both terms "Wirral" and "the Wirral" are used locally (and interchangeably), although the merits of each form are the subject of local debate. People from the Wirral are called Wirralians, which is also the name of a local rugby club.

The roughly rectangular peninsula is about long and wide. Under the Local Government Act 1972 the northern part constitutes the Metropolitan Borough of Wirral in Merseyside, and the southern part is administered as part of Cheshire West and Chester. Historically part of Cheshire, the Wirral's boundary with the rest of Cheshire was officially "Two arrow falls from Chester City Walls", as mentioned in the Domesday Book. On this larger definition, even places such as Ledsham, Puddington and Saughall would be part of Wirral. The peninsula has also been a hundred.

Origin of the name

The name Wirral occurs in the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle as Wirheal, literally "myrtle-corner", from the Old English wir, a myrtle tree, and heal, an angle, corner or slope. It is supposed that the land was once overgrown with bog myrtle, a plant no longer found in the area but plentiful around Formby, to which Wirral would once have provided a similar...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from