Wisconsin Legislature

Wisconsin Legislature


Wisconsin Legislature

to get instant updates about 'Wisconsin Legislature' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Wisconsin Legislature is the state legislature of the U.S. state of Wisconsin. The Legislature is a bicameral body composed of the upper house Wisconsin Senate and the lower Wisconsin Assembly. With both houses combined together, the Wisconsin Legislature is composed of 132 members representing an equal number of constituent districts.

The Legislature convenes at the state capitol in Madison.

Members and terms

All 99 members of the Assembly are elected in a two year term cycle without term limits. Similarly, all 33 members of the Senate are elected in a four year cycle, also without term limits. Half of the Senate is elected every two years. Prior to an amendment in the Wisconsin Constitution in 1881, Assembly members served a one year term, while Senators were elected every two years. The 100th Wisconsin Legislature began on January 3, 2011.


Members of both houses of the Legislature vote within their ranks to select presiding officers, such as the Speaker of the Assembly and the President of the Senate. These high level positions reflect the party majority in both chambers. An amendment to the state constitution in 1979 removed the Lieutenant Governor of Wisconsin as the presiding officer of the Senate, allowing Senators to vote within their ranks for a chamber president. Similarly, majority and minority leaders are also selected by party strength in the legislative houses and within their own respective caucus.

External links

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from