Woking (borough)

to get instant updates about 'Woking (Borough)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

See Woking for the town.
Woking is a local government district with borough status in the west of Surrey, England.

It was formed in 1895 as an urban district under the Local Government Act 1894. The present-day borough was established in 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972, and is one of two districts in Surrey to retain the boundaries of a single former urban district (the other being Epsom and Ewell). It is also the only district of Surrey not to have a boundary with a district of any other county.

Woking Borough Council's head offices are located in the town of Woking, just outside the town square in the Civic Offices.

At the 2001 Census, the population of the borough was 88,125, over 70% of whom (62,796) lived in the town of Woking. The rest of the borough is divided into five areas located around a village. These villages are:

Byfleet is the only civil parish in the borough.


Elections to the council are held in three out of every four years, with one third of the 36 seats on the council being elected at each election. The elections are normally battled out between the Conservative Party and the Liberal Democrats. From the 1998 election to 2007 no party had a majority on the council, but in the 2007 election the Conservative party won a majority.<ref...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from