World Rowing Championships

World Rowing Championships

World Rowing Championships

to get instant updates about 'World Rowing Championships' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The World Rowing Championships is an international rowing regatta organized by FISA (the International Rowing Federation). It is a week long event held at the end of the northern hemisphere summer and in non-Olympic years is the highlight of the international rowing calendar.

The first event was held in Lucerne, Switzerland in 1962. The event then was held every four years until 1974 — when it became an annual competition. Also in 1974, Men's lightweight and Women's open weight events were added to the championships. In 1985, Women's lightweight events were added to the schedule.

Since 1996, during (Summer) Olympic years, the Junior World Rowing Championships are held at the same time.

In 2002, adaptive rowing events were introduced for the following classes of disability: LTA (legs, trunk and arms), TA (trunk, arms), and A (arms-only). In 2009 the A category was replaced by AS (arms and shoulders), and an ID (intellectually disabled) category was added.


Rowing takes place in 22 different boat classes, apart from during Olympic years when only non-Olympic boat classes race. National teams generally take less interest in the non-Olympic events, as the Olympic events are considered the "premier" events.

The table below shows the boat classes, "O" indicates the boat races at both the Olympics and World Championships. "WC" indicates...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from