World Sprint Speed Skating Championships

World Sprint Speed Skating Championships

World Sprint Speed Skating Championships

to get instant updates about 'World Sprint Speed Skating Championships' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The World Sprint Speed Skating Championships are annual speed skating championships. The championships are held over a two day period, with the skaters racing one 500 m and one 1,000 m each day. Since the higher speeds towards the end of the race tend to favour the skater who skates the last outer lane, each skater starts both distances once in the inner lane and once in the outer lane. The times on those distances are then converted to points using the samalog system, and the skaters are then ranked according to the least amount of points. The International Skating Union has organised the World Sprint Championships for Men and the World Sprint Championships for Women since 1970 and both are held at the same time and venue. The first two years (1970-1971), they were called the ISU Sprint Championships.

Medal winners


  1. - If we use the 2006 men’s World Champion (Joey Cheek of the United States) as an example: Cheek took 35.19 seconds and 35.09 seconds for the 500 m races, and 1:09.25 and 1:10.17 for the 1,000 m races. This means that he scored 35.190 + 35.090 + 34.625 + 35.085 = 139.990 points.

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from