Yale Corporation

to get instant updates about 'Yale Corporation' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Yale Corporation, sometimes, and more formally, known as The President and Fellows of Yale College, is the governing body of Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut.

The Corporation comprises 19 members:

  • Three ex officio members: the President of the University and the Governor and the Lieutenant Governor of the State of Connecticut.
  • Ten "Successor Trustees" who elect their own successors.
  • Six Alumni Fellows who are elected by the body of Yale alumni.

While Article 8 Section 3 of the Constitution of the State of Connecticut recognizes a 1792 Act of the Connecticut General Assembly, which established the governor, lieutenant governor, and six members of the State Senate as ex officio members of the Corporation, an 1871 act of the Connecticut Legislature gave Yale alumni the right to elect the six posts formerly occupied by state senators. As explained by George Pierson, a descendant of Yale's first president:<blockquote>In the 1750s President Clap did cause or engineer two great breaks: the separation of the College from the churches by the setting up of an independent college church, and separation of the College from the state by the refusal of inspection and termination of colony support. But the second separation proved unsuccessful. So Stiles and his trustees had to bring political authorities back into management of the College by adding the governor, lieutenant governor, and six senior assistants to the Fellows of the Corporation in...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from