Yangon Region

Yangon Region

Settlement Less

Yangon Region

to get instant updates about 'Yangon Region' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Yangon Region (, MLCTS:rankun tuing desa. kri:, ; formerly Rangoon Division and Yangon Division) is an administrative region of Myanmar. Located in the heart of Lower Myanmar, the division is bordered by Bago Region in the north and east, the Gulf of Martaban in the south, and Ayeyarwady Region in the west. Yangon Region is dominated by its capital city of Yangon, the former national capital and the largest city in the country. Other important cities are Thanlyin and Twante. The division is the most developed region of the country and the main international gateway. The division measures 10,170 kmĀ² (3,927.15 square miles).


The region was historically populated by the Mon. Politically, the area was controlled by Mon kingdoms prior to 1057, and after 1057, with few exceptions, by Burman kingdoms from the north. The control of the region reverted back to Bago-based Mon kingdoms in the 13th to 16th centuries (1287–1539) and briefly in 18th century (1740–1757). The Portuguese were in control of Thanlyin (Syriam) and the surrounding area from 1599 to 1613. For centuries, Thanlyin was the most important port city in Lower Myanmar until the mid-18th century when King Alaungpaya chose to enlarge a small village across the river near the great Shwedagon Pagoda named Dagon.

The British first captured Yangon in the First Anglo-Burmese War...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from