Yukon Progressive Conservative Party

Yukon Progressive Conservative Party

_Political_Party Less

Yukon Progressive Conservative Party

to get instant updates about 'Yukon Progressive Conservative Party' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Yukon Progressive Conservative Party (in French: Parti progressiste-conservateur du Yukon) is a conservative political party in the Yukon Territory of Canada. It was previously known as the Yukon Party (in French: Parti du Yukon).


The Yukon Progressive Conservative Party was founded in 1978 with Hilda Watson as its first leader. Watson had been a member of the territorial Legislative Council since 1970, and became the first woman in Canadian history to lead a political party into a general election. However, she was unable to win a seat in the 1978 election, and consequently resigned. Chris Pearson became leader of the party as well as the government.

The Progressive Conservatives were defeated in the 1985 election by the Yukon New Democratic Party (NDP) led by Tony Penikett. With Prime Minister Brian Mulroney's Progressive Conservative federal government's increasing unpopularity, the Yukon Progressive Conservatives decided to sever their relations with the federal Conservatives, and renamed themselves the "Yukon Party" prior to the 1992 election.

Election results


See also

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from