City of Port Lincoln

City Of Port Lincoln

Australian Place
Australian Place Less

City of Port Lincoln

to get instant updates about 'City Of Port Lincoln' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The City of Port Lincoln is a local government area located on the southern tip of the Eyre Peninsula in South Australia. It consists only of the city of Port Lincoln and its suburbs. It is completely surrounded on land by the District Council of Lower Eyre Peninsula, which also has offices in Port Lincoln.


The area was discovered and mapped by Matthew Flinders in 1802, naming the area Port Lincoln after the county of Lincolnshire in England. Settlers arrived in 1839 and later that year Governor George Gawler proclaimed the area from Cape Catastrophe to the top of Spencer Gulf as a district - the District of Port Lincoln.

Although the council was formally established in 1880 as the District Council of Lincoln, it wasn't until 1921 that the Municipality of Port Lincoln was officially proclaimed. City status was granted to Port Lincoln on 21 January 1971!


Although the district is restricted mostly to Port Lincoln, it does include all of its suburbs and a number of surrounding areas. These include:

Boston Bay, Happy Valley, Kirton Point, Lincoln Cove, Lincoln Gardens, Porter Bay, and Rustlers Gully

Elected Members

Mayor: Peter Davis

CEO: Geoff Dodd

  • Danny Bartlett
  • Tanya Chludil
  • Gordon Hartley
  • Neville Starke
  • Mary Ware
  • Jillian Parker
  • Michael Bascombe
  • Malcolm Catt
  • Jim Papazoglov
  • Allan Reynolds


External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Australian Place
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from