Delhi High Court

Delhi High Court

_High_Court Less

Delhi High Court

to get instant updates about 'Delhi High Court' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The High Court of Delhi (, IAST: dillī ucca nyāyālaya) is the High Court of Delhi. It was established on 31 October 1966. The High Court of Delhi was established with four Judges. They were Chief Justice K. S. Hegde, Justice I. D. Dua, Justice H. R. Khanna and Justice S. K. Kapur.


On 21 March 1919, the High Court of Judicature at Lahore was established with jurisdiction over the provinces of Punjab and Delhi. This jurisdiction lasted till 1947 when India was partitioned. The High Courts (Punjab) Order, 1947 established a new High Court for the territory of "East Punjab" with effect from 15 August 1947. The India (Adaptation of Existing Indian Laws) Order, 1947 provided that any reference in an existing Indian law to the High Court of Judicature at Lahore be replaced by a reference to the High Court of East Punjab.

The High Court of East Punjab started functioning from Shimla in a building called "Peterhoff". The High Court shifted to Chandigarh in 1954/1955. The High Court of Punjab, as it later came to be called, exercised jurisdiction over Delhi through a Circuit Bench.

In view of the importance of Delhi, its population and other considerations, the Indian Parliament, by enacting the Delhi High Court Act, 1966, established the High Court of Delhi effective from 31st October, 1966.

The High Court of Delhi initially exercised jurisdiction not only over the Union Territory of Delhi, but also Himachal Pradesh. The High Court of Delhi had a...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from