E. H. Harriman Award

E. H. Harriman Award

E. H. Harriman Award

to get instant updates about 'E. H. Harriman Award' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The E.H. Harriman Award is an annual award presented to American railroad companies in recognition for outstanding safety achievements.


The award was founded in 1913 by Mary Averell Harriman, wife of the late Edward H. Harriman. After her death, the award was presented by her sons E. Roland Harriman and W. Averell Harriman. Today the award is sponsored by the E.H. Harriman Memorial Awards Institute.


While the awards were intended to encourage safe operating practices and safety enhancements, the awards have also occasionally been the source of some labor disputes. Part of the award criteria has been a count of the number of reported workplace injuries as tracked by the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA); this has led to disciplinary action and even dismissal for employees at some railroads. Several rail labor union objected to the criteria, going so far as to picket the award ceremonies. Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes<!--Note, "Employes" spelling is correct --> (BMWE) General Chairman Paul Beard created the "Harassment Award" as a satire of the Harriman Awards to raise awareness of management practices that bred intimidation and disciplinary actions against reporting accidents. In 1999 the FRA invited discussions with representatives of rail labor unions to discuss the problem.


Railroad companies are grouped into one of four categories:
  • Group A railroads are......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from