European Aviation Safety Agency

European Aviation Safety Agency

European Union Agency
European Union Agency Less

European Aviation Safety Agency

to get instant updates about 'European Aviation Safety Agency' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) is an agency of the European Union (EU) with offices in Cologne, Germany, which has been given regulatory and executive tasks in the field of civilian aviation safety. It was created on 15 July 2002, and it reached full functionality in 2008, taking over functions of the JAA (Joint Aviation Authorities). EFTA countries have been granted participation in the agency.

The agency’s responsibilities include:

  • giving advice to the European Union for drafting new legislation;
  • implementing and monitoring safety rules, including inspections in the Member States;
  • type-certification of aircraft and components, as well as the approval of organisations involved in the design, manufacture and maintenance of aeronautical products;
  • authorization of third-country (non EU) operators;
  • safety analysis and research.

As part of Single European Sky-II the agency have been given more tasks. These will be implemented before 2013. Amongst other things, EASA will now be able to certify Functional Airspace Blocks if more than three parties are involved.

Differences from JAA

The JAA was headquartered at Hoofddorp, Amsterdam. One difference between EASA and JAA is that EASA has legal regulatory authority within the European Union (EU) through the enactment of its regulations through the European Commission, Council of the European......
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


European Union Agency
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from