Five Articles of Remonstrance

Five Articles Of Remonstrance

Five Articles of Remonstrance

to get instant updates about 'Five Articles Of Remonstrance' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Five Articles of Remonstrance were given by followers of Jacobus Arminius, who did not want to adopt Arminius' name, instead choosing to call themselves the "Remonstrants".


Forty-one preachers and the two leaders of the Leyden state college for the education of preachers met in The Hague on 14 January 1610, to state in written form their views concerning all disputed doctrines. The document in the form of a remonstrance was drawn up by Jan Uytenbogaert and after a few changes was endorsed and signed by all in July.

The Remonstrants did not reject confession and catechism, but did not acknowledge them as permanent and unchangeable canons of faith. They ascribed authority only to the word of God in Holy Scripture and were averse to all formalism. They also maintained that the secular authorities have the right to interfere in theological disputes to preserve peace and prevent schism in the Church.

The Five Articles of Remonstrance were subject to review by the National Synod held in the Dutch city of Dordrecht in 1618–19. At the time, Dordrecht was often referred to in English as Dort; the English common name is still the Synod of Dort. The judgements of the Synod are known as The Canons of Dort, or Canons of Dordrecht. These Canons set forth what is often referred to as the Five Points of Calvinism, commonly denoted "TULIP": total depravity, unconditional election, limited atonement, irresistible grace, and perseverance of the...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from