History of West Ham United F.C.

History Of West Ham United F.C.

History of West Ham United F.C.

to get instant updates about 'History Of West Ham United F.C.' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

See also West Ham United F.C. by season

West Ham United Football Club are based in Upton Park, Newham, east London and have played their home matches at the 35,647 capacity Boleyn Ground stadium since 1904.

The club's formative roots stretch back to their formation as a professional side in 1900, but existed for at least five years prior to this under the name Thames Ironworks F.C. who themselves were built upon the remains of Old Castle Swifts F.C. (a club formed in 1892).

They initially competed in the London League (Winners 1897–98) later joining the Southern League (Division 2 Champions 1898–99) and Western League (Western League Champions in 1907–08) before joining the full Football League in 1919. They enjoyed their first top flight season in 1923 and have never fallen outside the top two divisions. They have won the FA Cup three times: in 1964, 1975 and 1980 (runners up 1923, 2006), and also captured the now defunct Cup Winners Cup in 1965 (runners up 10 years later) and the Intertoto Cup in 1999. They also won the first War Cup in 1940. Their best finish in the top flight was a third place finish in 1986. They have been runners up twice in the Football League Cup (1966 and 1981) and shared the 1964 Charity Shield

They were awarded the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Team Award in honour of their UEFA Cup Winners Cup win.

The early years

1892–1895 – Pre-history, Castle Swifts F.C. and Old Lukes F.C.

The core of the Thames Ironworks, and thereby...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from