King Edward VII Stakes

King Edward VII Stakes

King Edward VII Stakes

to get instant updates about 'King Edward VII Stakes' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The King Edward VII Stakes is a Group 2 flat horse race in Great Britain open to three-year-old thoroughbred colts and geldings. It is run at Ascot over a distance of 1 mile and 4 furlongs (2,414 metres), and it is scheduled to take place each year in June.

The event was established in 1834, and it was originally known as the Ascot Derby. In the early part of its history it was also open to fillies. The race was renamed in memory of King Edward VII in 1926.

The King Edward VII Stakes is currently held about two weeks after the Epsom Derby, and it usually features horses which were entered for that race. It is contested on the fourth day of the five-day Royal Ascot meeting.


<span style="font-size:90%">Leading jockey (7 wins):
  • Morny CannonSt Simon of the Rock (1891), Matchmaker (1895), Conroy (1896), Frontier (1899), Osboch (1901), Flying Lemur (1902), Darley Dale (1904)

Leading trainer (9 wins):
  • John PorterThe Palmer (1867), Pero Gomez (1869), Shotover (1882), The Child of the Mist (1885), Matchmaker (1895), Conroy (1896), Frontier (1899), Flying Lemur (1902), Darley Dale (1904)

Winners since 1977

<span style="font-size:85%"> The 2005 running took place at York.</span>

Earlier winners

<div style="font-size:90%; width:33%; float:left">
  • 1834: Pussy
  • 1835: Griselda
  • 1836: Lieutenant
  • 1837: Mango
  • 1838: no race
  • 1839: Bloomsbury
  • 1840: Bokhara
  • 1841: Coronation
  • 1842: Envoy
  • 1843:......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from