Margaret Mead Award

Margaret Mead Award

Margaret Mead Award

to get instant updates about 'Margaret Mead Award' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Margaret Mead Award is an award in the field of anthropology presented (solely) by the Society for Applied Anthropology from 1979 to 1983 and jointly with the American Anthropological Association afterwards. This award was named after anthropologist Margaret Mead, who had a particular talent for bringing anthropology fully into the light of public attention. It is awarded annually but once became every-other-year from 1991 to 1999.

The Margaret Mead Award is presented to a younger scholar for a particular accomplishment such as a book, film, monograph, or service, which interprets anthropological data and principles in ways that make them meaningful and accessible to a broadly concerned public. The award is designed to recognize a person clearly associated with research and/or practice in anthropology. The awardee's activity will exemplify skills in broadening the impact of anthropology, the skills for which Margaret Mead was admired widely.


The recipients of the award are as follows.

1979 - John Ogbu

1980 - Brigitte Jordan

1981 - Nancy Scheper-Hughes

1982 - Mary L. Elmendorf

1983 - Ruthann Knudson

1984 - Sue E. Estroff

1985 - Susan C.M. Scrimshaw

1986 - Jill Korbin

1987 - Myra Bluebond-Langner

1988 - Alex Stepick III

1989 - Mark Nichter

1990 - Wenda Trevathan

1991 - Will Roscoe

1993 - Leo R. Chavez

1995 - Katherine A. Dettwyler

1997 - Philippe Bourgois

1999 - Paul Farmer

2000 - Kathryn M. Dudley

2001 - Mimi Nichter

2002 - Tobias Hecht

2003 - Marc Sommers

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from