North Eastern Council

North Eastern Council

North Eastern Council

to get instant updates about 'North Eastern Council' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

In 1971, the Indian Central government set up the North Eastern Council by an act of parliament. The seven States of the North East India viz. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura popularly known as "Seven Sister States", are the members of the council, with their chief ministers and governors representing them. The headquarter of the council is situated in Shillong, and functions under Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region (Government of India). DoNER.

The Council is an advisory body and may discuss any matter in which the north-eastern states have a common interest and advise the Central Government as to the action to be taken on any such matter. This was to done so as to take care of economic and social planning of these states (since they were lagging from other states) and to take care of inter-state disputes.

The council has to its credit a lot of achievements mostly in electricity and education sector. The council has funded projects producing around 250 MW of electricity to reduce the region's dependency on West Bengal and Orissa. The council has also taken up major highway and bridge building projects and fund many engineering and medical colleges.

The funding of council mainly lies with the central government with small portions contributed by the state governments as well.


External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from