Parable of the Sower (novel)

Parable Of The Sower (Novel)

Book Less

Parable of the Sower (novel)

to get instant updates about 'Parable Of The Sower (Novel)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Parable of the Sower is the first in a two-book series of science fiction novels written by Octavia E. Butler and published in 1993.

Plot summary

Set in a future where government has all but collapsed, Parable of the Sower centers on a young woman named Lauren Olamina who possesses what Butler dubbed hyperempathy – the ability to feel the perceived pain and other sensations of others – who develops a benign philosophical and religious system during her childhood in the remnants of a gated community in Los Angeles. Civil society has reverted to relative anarchy due to resource scarcity and poverty. When the community's security is compromised, her home is destroyed and her family murdered. She travels north with some survivors to try to start a community where her religion, called Earthseed, can grow.

Proposed third Parable novel

Butler had planned to write a third Parable novel, tentatively titled Parable of the Trickster, which would have focused on the community's struggle to survive on a new planet. She began this novel after finishing Parable of the Talents, and mentioned her work on it in a number of interviews, but at some point encountered a writer's block. She eventually shifted her creative attention, resulting in Fledgling, her final novel.

See also

  • Phillips, Jerry. "" - Novel: A Forum on Fiction, Spring 2002.

Awards and nominations

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from