Praja Socialist Party

Praja Socialist Party

Political Party
Political Party Less

Praja Socialist Party

to get instant updates about 'Praja Socialist Party' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Praja Socialist Party (PSP) was an Indian political party in existence from 1952 to 1972. It was founded when the Socialist Party, led by Jayprakash Narayan, Acharya Narendra Deva and Basawon Singh , merged with the Kisan Mazdoor Praja Party led by J.B. Kripalani (formerly, the president of the Indian National Congress and a close associate of Jawaharlal Nehru). A section led by Rammanohar Lohia broke from the party in 1955, resuming the name "Socialist Party". Another section of the party, led by the trade union leader George Fernandes, broke off to become the Samyukta Socialist Party in 1969. In 1960, Kripalani left the party and in 1964, Asoka Mehta joined Congress after his expulsion from the party. In 1972, the PSP merged with Fernandes's party to become the Socialist Party once more, before becoming part of the Janata coalition following the Emergency in 1977.


In September, 1952 the Kisan Mazdoor Praja Party merged with the Socialist Party with J.B. Kriplani as the chairman and Asoka Mehta as the general secretary.Chandra, Bipan & others (2000). India after Independence 1947-2000, Neu Delhi:Penguin Books, ISBN 0-14-027825-7, pp.201-2

Performance in the elections

At the party's first general election in 1957, the PSP won 10.41% of the total votes and 19 seats in the Lok Sabha. However, the party's vote share continued to decline over the next few elections. It won 6.81% of the total...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Political Party
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from